A Song of Praise

Psalm 40:2-3

“He has also brought me out of a horrible pit,
Out of a miry clay,
And set my feet upon a rock,
And established my steps.
He has put a new song in my mouth-
Praise to our God;
Many will see it and fear,
And will trust in the Lord.”

Psalm 42:5
“Why are you cast down O my soul?
And why are you disquieted within me?
Hope in God, for I shall yet praise him
For the help of his countenance.”

Psalm 147:11
“The Lord takes pleasure in those who fear him,
In those who hope in his mercy.”

A Song of Praise

The winds that whip across her brow’ do not soothe but burn

Tossing back and forth she tries to suck air violently, treading
water pleading for the Lord to return

The storm descends, darkness envelops her, in the midst of so
many trials

She is slowly sinking by the mile her face a masks of smiles

Disobedience, Pride, trying to do it all on her own, recipes for disaster

In between screaming gales a promise is whispered by her master

Look up my child and trust in my mercy and my love

Take my hand and feel yourself float toward the light above

Focus on me and I will block the wind and set your feet back
on solid ground

Slowly she looks up from the dark expanse and see’s a glimmer of hope that could send her glory bound

Believe, Hope and Trust in my Goodness and praise my Holy name

For I am help in present danger and I alone can bring the healing rain

I am always with you and will never cease to show you mercy, in the coming days

I give Forgiveness for your repentance, and obedience to my ways,
will lead to a heart that overflows in gratitude and on your lips sincere felt praise

These are the things that touch my heart, so child take my hand

And I will take you for my kingdom and set your feet upon dry land

Despite all that she’s defiled and all her sin, she took his words to heart

And he washed her white as snow and set her feet upon the rock , tenderly he steadied her for a brand new start

And now as she walks in this world, her step is so much lighter and you can plainly hear

The songs of praise she sings out loud, so lovely and so clear

1 Comment

  1. Heidi Viars said,

    July 18, 2013 at 9:52 am

    thank you so much for this beautiful reminder!


Leave a Reply

